Skip to main content

Huon Valley Open 2024 Results

By January 23, 2024Featured, News

Excitement peaks at the 2024 Huon Open ‘Bill Wellington Memorial’

Eli Monaghan clinches victory in thrilling playoff, Joshua Hay shines in Huon Valley Cup, and Ladies’ Champions Crowned

In a spectacular showcase of skill and determination, the 2024 Huon Open ‘Bill Wellington Memorial’ unfolded from the 18-21 January, attracting the finest golfers from across the State. The event, hosted at the Huon Valley Golf Club, proved to be a riveting affair with intense competition and standout performances.

The tournament reached its climax with a nail-biting 3-hole playoff between Eli Monaghan and Paul Read, both from the Tasmania Golf Club. Both golfers demonstrated their prowess, concluding the initial 36 holes tied at an impressive 5 under 139. An exceptional performance by the 16 year old Eli, had a 1-under score in the playoff to secure the coveted Huon Valley Open ‘Bill Wellington’ trophy, overcoming Paul Read, who finished the playoff at even par.

Adding to the excitement, the Huon Valley Cup, the Net event of the tournament, saw Joshua Hay from Tasmania emerge victorious with an outstanding score of 132, an astounding 12 under his handicap. Hay’s outstanding effort left a lasting impression on spectators and secured his position as the Huon Valley Cup Winner.

Not to be overshadowed, the Ladies’ Day held on Thursday 18 January witnessed formidable performances despite challenging weather conditions. Anne Medlycott from Royal Hobart claimed the title of Huon Valley Open Ladies Champion for the second consecutive year, carding a 82 gross. Meanwhile, Judy Fehlberg from Richmond triumphed in the Huon Valley Open ‘Valley Cup’ (nett event) with an impressive 67, finishing 5 under her handicap.

The success of the entire event can be attributed to the dedication and skill of the participants who traveled from all corners of the country to compete. The Huon Valley Golf Club extends its heartfelt gratitude to each player for contributing to the tournament’s success.

The 2024 Huon Open will be remembered as a thrilling chapter in the tournament’s history, honouring the legacy of Bill Wellington and celebrating the spirit of competitive golf in the Huon Valley.

Mens: Joshua Hay, Valley Cup winner, Eli Monaghan, Huon Valley Open winner,  Brady Jones (Bendigo Bank), Brett Doyle, President Huon Valley Golf Club.

Ladies: Judy Fehlberg (l) Valley Cup winner, Brady Jones (Bendigo Bank), Anne Medlycott (r) Huon Valley Open winner

2024 Huon Valley Men’s Open Results

Senior Nett R/UpGeoff DoigTasmania70
Senior Nett WinnerGary LovellHuon Valley69
Div 3 Gross R/UpTroy PorteusSmithton89
Div 3 Gross WinnerAnthony BirdTasmania88
Div 3 Nett R/UpChris DoyleTasmania72
Div 3 Nett WinnerTroy PorteusSmithton71
Div 2 Gross R/UpJoshua HayTasmania79
Div2 Gross WinnerGary LovellHuon Valley77
Div 2 Nett R/UpGary LovellHuon Valley69
Div 2 Nett WinnerJoshua HayTasmania66
Div 1 Gross R/UpPaul ReadTasmania69
Div1 Gross WinnerEli MonaghanTasmania69
Div 1 Nett R/UpHarry SmithKingston Beach69
Div 1 Nett WinnerMatt KeoughHuon Valley69
Senior Nett R/UpDennis KellyHuon Valley72
Senior Nett WinnerNed TrewarthaHuon Valley71
Div 3 Gross R/UpChris DoyleTasmania88
Div 3 Gross WinnerDaniel SpenceTasmania85
Div 3 Nett R/UpChris DoyleTasmania70
Div 3 Nett WinnerDaniel SpenceTasmania68
Div 2 Gross R/UpDaniel PageHuon Valley83
Div2 Gross WinnerJosh HayTasmania79
Div 2 Nett R/UpLewis SheehanSmithton71
Div 2 Nett WinnerJosh HayTasmania66
Div 1 Gross R/UpPaul ReadTasmania70
Div1 Gross WinnerPeter LearyKingston Beach70
Div 1 Nett R/UpPeter LearyKingston Beach71
Div 1 Nett WinnerJake SavageKingston Beach71
36 Hole Seniors Gross R/UpDavid PretymanKingston Beachg156
36 Hole Seniors Gross WinnerMarcus WellingtonBeerwah155
36 Hole Seniors Nett R/UpNed TrewarthaHuon Valley145
36 Hole Seniors Nett WinnerGary LovellHuon Valley143
36 Hole Div 3 Gross R/UpChris DoyleTasmania178
36 Hole Div 3 Gross WinnerDaniel SpenceTasmania175
36 Hole Div 3 Nett R/UpChris DoyleTasmania142
36 Hole Div 3 Nett WinnerDaniel SpenceTasmania141
36 Hole Div 2 Gross R/UpIan HallidayHuon Valley167
36 Hole Div 2 Gross WinnerJosh Hay Tasmania158
36 Hole Div 2 Nett R/UpIan HallidayHuon Valley145
36 Hole Div 2 Nett WinnerNed TrewarthaHuon Valley145
36 Hole Div 1 Gross R/UpAndrew PhillipsTasmania142
36 Hole Div 1 Gross WinnerPaul ReadTasmania139
36 Hole Div 1 Nett R/UpMatt KeoughHuon Valley144
36 Hole Div 1 Nett WinnerGary LovellHuon Valley143
Huon Valley Cup WinnerJosh Hay Tasmania132
Huon Valley Open
Bill Wellington Trophy Winner
Eli MonaghanTasmania139

2024 Huon Valley Ladies Open Results

Nearest the Pins
1st and 10th Hole0-24Nicola CollinsLlanherne
25-54Pauline RobertsonHVGC
6th and 15th0-24Jennifer RosenthallRoyal Sydney
25-54Anne RowbothamHVGC
Div 3: (31-54)Gross R/UpCarol PhillipsNew Town Bay104
Gross WinnerJudy FelhbergRichmond102
Nett R/UpCarol PhillipsNew Town Bay69
Nett WinnerWendy StudleyRichmond67
Div 2: (19-30)Gross R/UpNikki StuartNew Town Bay93
Gross WinnerKirstan AllenNew Town Bay91
Katherine MalonyNett R/UpKirsten AllenNew Town Bay69
Nett WinnerPauline JenkinsColebrook67
Div 1: (0-18)Gross R/UpLeeza WalkerHuon Valley83
Gross WinnerKaren BannisterRoyal Hobart82
Nett R/UpNicola CollinsLlanherne73
Nett WinnerWendy DavidsonRoyal Hobart71
HV Open Valley Cup Nett WinnerJudy FelhbergRichmond67
HV Open Ladies ChampionAnne MedlycottRoyal Hobart82

Note: Huon Valley Open and Cup winners do not receive Division wins Runner Up and 3rd are promoted in affected divisions.